Tuesday, 4 May 2021

From my window, 4th May

 How black the rain-soaked branches of the rowan

against the new, bright leaves.

Thursday, 29 April 2021

God's early morn?

To the east, towering grey clouds

Shiny-edged.

I wait for God's fingers to appear

clutching, and hoping for another ten minutes

before he has to rise.


Thursday, 4 February 2021

After lunch

 A from-the-corner-of-my-eye, unfocused glance

startled by a ginger tabby, five feet up the conifer.

While mind throws up a juggle of lunatic explanations

eye looks again

and sees it is dead branch.

Thursday, 28 January 2021

Momentarily mistaken

NOT slow, large-scape gathered drops from the gutter

but occasional, errant, unwelcome snow.


Sunday, 24 January 2021

Sense of time

 What I took for granted, until a couple of years ago

was my sense of time: waking in the dark, I could usually guess,

accurate to within ten minutes.

In the last two, three years

It's disappeared.

Sunday, 17 January 2021

Golden-plus years of marriage

 There's no place nor sense in having conversations we didn't have courage or vocabulary for

in the early days

Not now we've learnt to adjust.

And know kindness - love - is more important.

Thursday, 14 January 2021

Slush shapes

Wet overnight snow

rained upon this morning

forms, in places, circles

as if strained through some heavenly colander


Wednesday, 13 January 2021

Crowded workshop carpark

 Two or maybe three 

(might all be done by mirrors)

shaven-headed, black-fleeced men

directing my reversing

None noticing I'd barely noticed them.

Tuesday, 12 January 2021

That song ...

 Ten past two in the afternoon

walking south

unable to tell friend from foe

not that I meet many friends out walking

and even fewer foes

Saturday, 9 January 2021

On my way to buy a morning paper #100

 Walking on potentially slippery surfaces -

successfully walking -

is all about confidence.

Thanks, this morning, to seeing how the man in the blue coat was doing it.